CHIPS Alliance Governance

The CHIPS Alliance is a directed fund of The Linux Foundation, a 501(c)(6) non-profit organization.  Following best practices in the industry, we maintain a clear and consistent separation of responsibilities between technical and non-technical governance decisions.

In addition to the top-level structure of The CHIPS Alliance, each hosted open source project has its own process, structure, and community.  While the Technical Steering Community (TSC) sets high-level technical policy, projects have a great deal of flexibility in day-to-day operations.

Governing Board

The Governing Board sets overall policy through our participation agreement and technical charter, which describes the membership requirements and responsibilities of participants.

Ted Marena
Interim Executive Director
Zvonimir Bandic
Chair; Western Digital
Borivoje Nikolic
Associate Member Representative; UC Berkeley
Dave Ditzel
David Kehlet
Richard Ho
Xiaoning Qi
Alibaba Group
Yunsup Lee

Technical Steering Committee (TSC)

The Technical Steering Committee, or TSC, is responsible for the technical oversight of the CHIPS Alliance.  The TSC is responsible for implementing technical policy and procedures within the scope and direction of the policies set by the Governing Board, such as defining and maintaining neutral consensus on the technical vision for CHIPS Alliance projects, shepherding projects through their technical lifecycle, and identifying, recruiting, and engaging prospective projects.

The TSC operates openly and transparently, and consists of elected representatives from each CHIPS Alliance workgroup. TSC meetings are open to all, and both members and non-members may earn the right to participate in all TSC governance processes.

Henry Cook

Outreach Committee

The Outreach Committee is responsible for organizing the external presence of the CHIPS Alliance.

Michael Gielda